Thank you to John Robb’s blog for pointing me to the great article on small scale manufacturing.

Wired Magazine Article on Manufacturing

This article spoke to me on many levels.  I am a big fan of local and virtual companies.  My Cell Safe endeavour, launched what seems like a lifetime ago (1998) was a virtual company.  I wonder how it would have played out if the tools available today were available then.  One of the reasons that business failed was because of my lack of capital and funds to launch follow up products.  The reduced costs of global manufacturing available now would have perhaps allowed me to stay competitive in a niche that I had founded. 

I also enjoyed the piece in the article about the Lego aftermarket manufacturer.  I am an AFOL  (adult fan of lego), but i never realized that the market to supply niche lego components was so lucrative.

